It’s been awhile since I posted something that was plaguing my mind, rather than an essay or school assignment I’ve grown fond of. That being said, I would like to introduce some thoughts I’ve been entertaining lately in a series of posts.

  1. Accepting Reality

During my absence from blogging some big news happened… I got accepted into my dream college! I was (and still am) so excited to be able to attend and further myself through education. I had visited the campus and seen the classrooms and the beautiful chapel. My father and I listened to the wonderful choir sing and sat beside the lake watching as the fish danced about in the water. As the evening sunset washed over the hillside we succumb to an irreplaceable moment of peace and security. The presence of God was there. It was perfect.

Except for one thing… the cost. My dream university was way outside the bounds of my family’s financial status. Government funding would not nearly be enough for us as we are stuck in the middle class, and scholarships- those pesky things- are not exactly throwing themselves at me. Over the past month the idea of having to take out large loans and receive a massive amount of debt has been weighing immensely on my spirit. I have been accepted, and believe I am called to this University to serve the Lord. So then why would he make it so unattainable?

Here’s where the accepting reality part kicks in. God is a wonderful provider, yes, but he does not advocate, in any way, human complacency. Sure, it would be great if everything was free and I could just frolic joyfully through daisy fields all day. But that’s not the kind of provider God is. God is a genuine, sovereign God, and in order to ensure that we his people actually love Him for Him, in order to give us true free will, He has to say no sometimes. Sometimes he has to let us work for it.

Now understand the gift of God’s grace and the sacrifice he made for us is absolutely 100% free and will give you remission of sins and eternal life in heaven (Praise God!) but as long as we are still here on Earth and in our fallen state we must learn to trust the way God moves. God loves us so much that just as a good father knows what is best when he chastises his children, God too knows what is best when he gives us deliverance in a way we didn’t expect.

You see God is always good, and he is making a way for you and I, but the reality we must accept is that sometimes that way isn’t what we thought it would be. Sometimes it’s not glamorous or fun. Sometimes it just flat out stinks. A lot.

You might have to get a job to pay for the college- but did God not provide that job for you? Did God not provide that opportunity to gain a work ethic and experience to you? You might have to be around some people you find annoying, or open up to someone who you find awkward or below you. But did God not place those people in your life for a reason? Has he not put them there so that they may uplift you in your time of need, or even more so that you should uplift them in their time of need? You see God has a different perspective, a more eternal perspective than you and I- and I certainly think that’s something we should be working on.

All this reminds me of a poem I wrote in my newly published book Sleepless Dreams (yes I had to put in a promo there, sorry) called “The Union Soldier’s Prayer”. The poem is based off another great poem called “The Confederate Soldier’s Prayer”, which follows similar subject matter and is believed to be written by a confederate soldier during the US Civil War. Take a look:

I asked for strength that I might achieve;
I was made weak that I might learn humbly to obey.
I asked for health that I might do greater things;
I was given infirmity that I might do better things.
I asked for riches that I might be happy;
I was given poverty that I might be wise.
I asked for power that I might have the praise of men;
I was given weakness that I might feel the need of God.
I asked for all things that I might enjoy life;
I was given life that I might enjoy all things.
I got nothing that I had asked for,
but eveything that I had hoped for.
Almost despite myself my unspoken prayers were answered;
I am, among all men, most richly blessed.

BEAUTIFUL! My tribute poem surely doesn’t do justice to this original by an unknown creator. This is a man who has realized that accepting his reality means accepting the true will of God.

So Let’s recap:

  • God is sovereign and his grace is free.
  • God doesn’t always give us what we want.
  • We must accept our circumstances and reality for Him to work.
  • Changing perspectives should help keep everything fresh.

I pray this has helped you as much as writing these thoughts down has helped me (I feel a lot better already if I am to be honest). Soon to come are more thoughts, but in the meantime, please be sure to help me out by buying my first book of beautiful and heartfelt poetry called Sleepless Dreams. The book is a quick and easy read and for a limited time it is only $10! It is well worth it if you like my writing and want to help support young authorship. Thank you! 🙂

 

TLDR: God is not a genie or a shooting star, change your perspective for a real wish come true.

3 thoughts on “You Wish

  1. Firstly, congratulations for your acceptence to your dream college and for writing your book. All the best for the book and your college. I am a very pious person myself and I always hold my faith in Lord. May He always be merciful to us. Stay blessed😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

